Support to ASEAN/AICHR

A, undated NASA composite image shows earth at night, focused on Asia. (Photo by HO / NASA / © AFP) 

OHCHR Collaboration with AICHR

The ASEAN Intergovernmental Commission on Human Rights (AICHR)

The ASEAN Intergovernmental Commission on Human Rights (AICHR) is a consultative body of the Association of South-East Asian Nations (ASEAN), which comprises Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Viet Nam.

AICHR was established in 2009 and is tasked to “promote and protect human rights and fundamental freedoms of the peoples of ASEAN”. It is composed of one Representative nominated from each ASEAN Member State. AICHR is guided by the ASEAN Charter and the AICHR Terms of Reference. AICHR operates by consensus and in line with the ASEAN fundamental principles, including sovereignty, territorial integrity and non-interference in domestic affairs. Viet Nam is the Chair of AICHR in 2020; more information on AICHR and its Representatives of AICHR can be found here.

The ASEAN Human Rights Declaration (AHRD) was adopted in 2012.

OHCHR collaboration with AICHR  

Since 2006, the Regional Office for South-East Asia has supported ASEAN in its human rights work in line with international standards. This support initially focused on the establishment of an ASEAN regional human rights mechanism, in particular by sharing information and lessons learned from other regional mechanisms across the world.

In recent years, each year the Office has supported activities of AICHR Representatives relating to, freedom of religion and belief, freedom of expression, the death penalty, torture, persons with disabilities, the judiciary and the right to clean water and sanitation. The Regional Office participates in an annual ASEAN-UN dialogue and since 2018, has headed a UN delegation to an annual meeting between regional UN agencies and AICHR to discuss ongoing and future cooperation.